[ailleurs] Strolling with Dorrie

Dorrie Wilson participe à la série-documentaire « Strolling » de Cecile Emeke et contextualise la situation belge.
« There is a kind of sensibility that we are invisible. I’ve had numerous incidents where people literally just walk straight into me. I’m physically right in front of them. And they will walk into me. It’s a sort of inherent kind of behaviour here [Belguim] that black people are just not relevant in this scheme. They don’t have to physically be acknowledged and so the kind of unconscious behaviour that white people have here is really, really quite striking in that regard.
I think if I was born in Europe I would understand this much more readily. It’s quite difficult being a Black American. So much of what happens here is stuff that my mum told me about when she was a child. So to be an adult, having lived in the USA where I grew up in the 60’s with black consciousness and black power, and to see these kinds of things. It’s just really disturbing. »
Dorrie m’avait encouragée à poursuivre, à militer. Mais j’ai arrêté, je quitte prochainement le pays.
Pour lire plus sur les noirauds : « On sait et c’est très bien « 
Pour la totale : « Table ronde « Art féministe, féminismes dans l’art » – FRAC Lorraine 19 octobre 2015 « 

 

Une réflexion sur “[ailleurs] Strolling with Dorrie”

Laisser un commentaire

